Grateful Dead

Dozin' At The Knick (March 24-26 1990)

sku: GRA1120002

3 CD set from the Knickerbocker Arena in Albany, NY from March 24-25-26, 1990. Don't let the title fool you - the music on this new set (the fourth in a series of multi-track gems from The Vault) is anything but sleepy.

Recorded when the Grateful Dead was on one of those rolls (the hot 1990 spring tour, which also featured the band's famous first encounter with Branford Marsalis), this set is culled from three nights in New York's state capital, the Dead's first appearance at a venue that became a Deadhead favorite.

This is a kind of composite "dream show" and then some, with a "first set" assembled from highlights of the first two nights, followed by the entire second set from 3/25, and a bonus chunk of night #3, set #2. Among the tunes appearing for the first time on a live Dead album are "Dupree's Diamond Blues," "Just A Little Light," "Row Jimmy," "Blow Away" and "The Wheel." Appearing for the first time anywhere are Brent Mydland's "Never Trust A Woman" and the ever-popular "Mud Love Buddy" Jam. All this and much more, with the band in peak form, beautifully mixed from the multi-track master tape by producers Phil Lesh and John Cutler.


Disc 1
1 Hell In A Bucket
2 Dupree's Diamond Blues
3 Just A Little Light
4 Walkin' Blues
5 Jack-A-Roe
6 Never Trust A Woman
7 When I Paint My Masterpiece
8 Row Jimmy
9 Blow Away

Disc 2
1 Playing In The Band
2 Uncle John's Band
3 Lady With A Fan
4 Terrapin Station
5 Mud Love Buddy Jam
6 Drums
7 Space

Disc 3
1 Space
2 The Wheel
3 All Along The Watchtower
4 Stella Blue
5 Not Fade Away
6 We Bid You Goodnight
7 Space
8 I Will Take You Home
9 Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
10 Black Peter
11 Around And Around
12 Brokendown Palace

Product Details

HDCD provides higher resolution when played in an HDCD-equipped CD player, and offers superior sound when played in regular CD players. HDCD CDs can be played in all CD players.